A Beginners Guide to the Rugby Sevens

Ashleigh Austen
August 7, 2016

Rugby Sevens makes its debut at the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016 – the first time that Rugby has been a part of the Olympic Games program since 1924. And our Rugby Seven’s girls are at the top of their game.

Australia, co-captained by Shannon Parry and Sharni Williams and marshalled around the park by arguably the world’s best player, Charlotte Caslick, are the current World Series champions and will be seeded number one in Rio.

The 2015/16 Women’s Sevens World Series finished in May, visiting cities around the world such as Dubai, Sao Paulo, Atlanta in the USA, Langford in Canada and Clermont-Ferrand in France. At each women’s event, 12 international teams played 34 matches across two days, with Australia claiming the number one spot.

Source: World Rugby

Can’t wait to see what they do next? Neither can we! Follow our cheat sheet and cheer them on…


The game

In 1883, Rugby Sevens was born in Scotland. Like the 15-player game, the aim is to get the ball over your opponents try line. While you can kick forwards, you can only pass backwards. Rugby Sevens is a game that features 14 players on the pitch at one time – seven players per side – generally three forwards and four backs.


The rules

Scoring is the same as in traditional XVs: five points for a try, two for a conversion and three for a penalty goal. But rather than playing two 40-minute halves, there are two seven-minute halves with just a two-minute break at half-time, meaning lots of matches in a day or session.


The players

Fewer athletes on the pitch not only makes for a faster game, but ups the entertainment value. With the pitch being the same size as a regular one, it means more space and far more points. Statistics say that a try is scored every two-and-a-half minutes. What does that mean for athletes? More training and some seriously conditioned fitness levels.